Buffalo MN – Getting Local and Social in the Holiday Season

First, if you’re a sibling of mine hit the back button. If you’re a sibling and don’t hit the back button, and is on my gift exchange list, please act surprised when opening your Christmas gift.

Today is the 2nd year of buying holiday gifts away from the metro and learn about a smaller community at the same time. Last year was Delano. Today is Buffalo, MN. Here’s the Flickr set.

It was a very worthwhile venture. After checking, none of the local businesses I visited has a verified Google Places listing. Businesses of Buffalo, definitely consider claiming your business. It’s the first thing any local business should do online, even if they don’t have a website. Here are some tips and guidelines straight from Google. Plus, it’s free!

With that said, the venture started out by parking on Division Street and heading into A Wreath of Franklin.

I like to give positive user reviews on Google Maps. I try not to give 5 stars because it seems less real. There was simply nothing about this place to give it less than 5 stars. They were so appreciative of why I was shopping at their store. So, off to Google Hotpot. End result?

Just across the Street is Buffalo Books. They have a few nice reviews written on Google Maps and even has a coffee shop in back. I felt the need to check in on Foursquare. Don’t know why. I didn’t really have anything to say.

Anyway, a book form of People of Walmart will be gifted at my sis and bro-in-law’s place in Rochester later this month.

By chance if you’re looking for a larger office space at a smaller town price, here’s one for you. It’s right downtown and I believe it used to be a department store. I’m just surprised there’s not a yellow pages mountain dumped in front.

Another place recommended was Now & Again which sells hard-to-find items. Turns out they out-grew that store and leased the building across their back alley named Now & Again, Too. This store features some larger (and smaller) used and antique items. An example are two ol’ timey Dr. Seuss books. I hope Alana will enjoy these as much as I did when I was her age.

What’s a good reason to visit Buffalo? To visit Aaron Weiche of course! He helps lead Five Technology and is an all around great guy. He also treated me to BJ’s Deli. Looks like Aaron gave them a great review today as well! Note – the woman playing Christmas music on the keyboard is putting a yellow pages book to good use. It’s a useful seat riser.

I can’t recommend downtown Buffalo enough. If you’re shopping for people who either have everything or want hard-to-find items, you’ll find something you’re looking for, something you didn’t know you’re looking for, or both. Just take State Highway 55 to Buffalo, find Division Street, park (all free) and walk around a few square blocks. You’ll enjoy yourself.


Have you shopped in Buffalo? If so, please let us know your experiences. We’d love to hear your input! If you’re on Twitter, lets build the #BuyInBuffaloMN hashtag.

Bookmark on Google :: pos</p>

3 Responses to Buffalo MN – Getting Local and Social in the Holiday Season

  1. Aaron says:

    Awesome post and great to get you out to my neck of the woods Paul! Even with me telling many local biz owners to claim their Places listing …. it takes a lot to get it to happen. Maybe your post will help! :)

    Glad you found so many great gifts, there are many great shops in Buffalo.

  2. Great to see people coming out to Buffalo to get their holiday shopping done. My favorite store is Lillian’s (which is about 2 blocks down from BJ’s and right outside of my office window).

    Oh – and I have my google places profile claimed!

  3. Paul Jahn says:

    @Aaron – Thanks for the store suggestions… and lunch! You probably know I’m not a suburbamall type of person and Buffalo was just perfect. This is definitely a yearly tradition.

    @Cindi – Looks like I walked really close to Lillian’s and it’s great to see you’ve claimed your law firm! Congrats on the 10.0 Superb Avvo ratings, too. I’m a big fan of them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

