New Local Search Tool from Schmaplocal.com

Schmap Local 

I came across the Schmaplocal.com site from a search marketing forum and found it interesting. It’s a local search tool that allows you to deliver business addresses and phone numbers to your email, mobile device, Skype, and even your ol’ printer.

It’s a little hidden, but you can see the footprint logo by the results. Clicking on this gives you the transfer options.

schmap example

It requires a pretty simple download and works with the major local search players such as Google Maps, Yahoo Local, Citysearch, MapQuest, and Live Local. It’s a pretty cool search tool and I like the idea of sending address and phone number info to your cell or mobile device to find and buy something on the way home from work.

I haven’t looked into it in detail, it’s in Beta, so I’m assuming there are bugs to fix. It’s initially impressive, though.

add to YahooMyWeb digg it add to del.icio.us

3 Responses to New Local Search Tool from Schmaplocal.com

  1. I can see a lot of applications for this and why it might be useful but the name sucks. I mean come on Schmap! I don’t know who came up with that but maybe they can change it when they come outta beta. Also not big on things I have to download but overall I think it is a good idea.

  2. Paul says:

    Aww, does that mean I shouldn’t pick up schlocal.com? It’s available. 🙂

  3. […] and Flickr Photo I’ve only written about Schmap.com once. It’s a pretty cool local search tool that allows you to send local information to your […]

Leave a Reply

