Dex Advertisers Continue Relationship with Yahoo Local

If you’re in Minnesota, you’re one of the 14 States that may get that tree on your doorstep known as the Dex print Yellow Pages. Winds up they and R.H. Donnelley expanded their relationship with Yahoo Local.

I consider the print Yellow Pages as useful as a broken, manual typewriter, but they’re continuing something pretty useful.

Dex advertisers can benefit from Yahoo Local’s featured, enhanced, and maps business listings. Here’s an overview, straight from Yahoo. Turns out that these ads are pretty prevalent in Yahoo Local, often in Yahoo’s version of their “one box”, and often Yahoo Local results appear in Google’s main search engine listings.

Is this for you? Maybe. Depends on the price point.

add to YahooMyWeb add to del.icio.us

4 Responses to Dex Advertisers Continue Relationship with Yahoo Local

  1. KenC says:

    Why aren’t you using a print Yellow Pages?? You never use them?? US adults referenced the print Yellow Pages over 15 billion times last year. 90% of all adults reference them at least once a year, 75% in a typical month, and 50+% on average month. How about on average 1.4X each week? And let’s remember that not everyone is lucky enough to have Internet access like you do

  2. gophergang says:

    Ummm …. Ken …. the inter-nets are so much faster with more info to support why you want to contact a business. As soon as the print YP has multiple photos, detailed info, user reviews and more … I’ll stick to online bliss. I can have the goods quick and also make more informed decisions.

    Something makes me very skeptical of these numbers and the broad terms used as well. What is the source Ken?

    I used the internet 100% of the time last week, found 100% of what I was looking for. I like those numbers.

  3. Paul says:

    Aww, shucks Ken. How do you really feel? 😉

    Oh wait. You’ve already said the exact same thing here.
    https://localmn.wordpress.com/2007/05/31/print-yellow-pages-im-not-quite-dead-yet/#comment-3055

    and here.
    https://localmn.wordpress.com/2007/03/06/local-search-marketing-growth-forecasts-are-split/#comment-910

    I applaud you on your copy and paste skills any time someone gives a mention that the print Yellow Pages are not “the wave of the future” or “truly the original local search engine”.

    To answer your questions, I don’t use the print Yellow Pages because they are useless to me. Yes, useless. 2nd question – no, I never, ever use them.

    In your honor, next time I mention anything against the print Yellow Pages, I’ll make sure to copy and paste one of your canned responses in the actual blog post. That will save you time by having to respond.

    In other words, dude, get over it.

  4. jeff says:

    KenC,

    Copying and pasting from your sales deck is old school, but not in a funny, will ferrell type way.

    I’m actually considering removing the print yellow pages from my house as a safety concern. The book weighs appx. 49 lbs. My 18 month old toddler weighs 30 lbs.

    I see danger…..I think I may need a waste removal expert:

    http://www.google.com/search?q=garbage+removal+minneapolis

    Wow..that took a long time…

Leave a Reply

