SXSW Festival – Music, Interactive, and Hyperlocal

My dream geek vacation is to hit the South by Southwest (SXSW) festival in Austin TX, particularly the interactive and music festivals in adjacent weeks. It didn’t happen this year, it won’t in 2008, and am crossing my fingers for 2009.

Both Erica and Greg from Metroblogging Twin Cities are looking to present at the interactive festival for 2008. I’m particularly interested in Erica’s pitch on Building Hyperlocal Web sites for the Future. I gave my vote and comment, you can too.

Yeah, I know. I’m kinda’ passionate on the whole “local” thing. The above hyperlocal pitch is more community over business-based, but the concept remains the same. Engage and communicate with local visitors, and build trust with them. Kinda’ cool.

Greg from Weber Shandwick is pitching a cool social media presentation too on Marketing for Monkeys. I’ve been a marketing monkey before. Eeep eeep. 🙂

add to YahooMyWeb add to del.icio.us

4 Responses to SXSW Festival – Music, Interactive, and Hyperlocal

  1. Greg says:

    Thanks for the plug! Last year I went for two weeks and did the web geek and music geek thing. It was rad.

  2. Paul says:

    Oh man, one of these years I’ll get there Greg. It sounds like too much fun!

    Too bad you can’t make the MIMA event but hey, weddings and family, they gotta’ come first 🙂

  3. Erica says:

    I’m skipping the music festival, but another friend of mine from here is doing both Interactive and Music as well. That is one helluva vacation.

    My personal interest is definitely more community-focused than business-focused, but like you said, there are certainly commonalities. And there are cases of community groups turning into businesses and businesses (maybe more like “online services”) turning into communities. I think each side can inform the other.

    Thanks for the shout out. 🙂

  4. Paul says:

    Oh man I’m green with envy. Hitting both would be too sweet. I don’t know how I’d actually get back into the normal swing of things if that ever happens.

    No problem on the shout out Erica! Thanks for stoppin by 🙂

Leave a Reply

