Google Local (Maps) Results… and Results… and Results…

Thanks to Clint from ThinkSEM for pointing this out to me – Google is showing (at least today) up to ten local listings within their natural results. I’ll use the standard “pizza” local search, but it applies across many industries.

Local Results

I’m not affiliated with them at all, but there’s a reason that Pizza Luce is circled. Here they are again in the sponsored results.

Sponsored Results

And… in the natural results – once for their own site and once by piggy-backing on CitySearch.

Natural Results

All of this on just one Google page. Talk about a lot of real estate. This could be a good opportunity for interested folks to check out the local search post regarding going back to the basics.

Updated post also at Search Engine Guide.

add to YahooMyWeb add to del.icio.us

6 Responses to Google Local (Maps) Results… and Results… and Results…

  1. Aaron says:

    Paul- I noticed this too this week. Very cool. I’m happy to see more than just 3 choices in the box. I would guess 90%+ of users didn’t know they could click for “more local results” so I think expanding it to 10 is far better. Plus I’ll have an easier time getting people into the top 10 then the top 3. Slacker. 🙂

  2. Paul says:

    Good point Aaron! You’re probably spot on regarding the 90%+. I’m definitely liking the 10 results for the same reasons.

    Side note and probably too late of a notice: -12 degrees in the morning = no lift lines at Welch. I’m excited 🙂

  3. holly says:

    The results that local search is returning are far better than the old “for more local results.” I searched “Minneapolis Snowboard Shop” yesterday and got 10 great results right on the top of my organic search. I had phone numbers and addresses with out having to do any further digging. It is GREAT 🙂 Now if I could just find Brown Snow Pants…….

  4. holly says:

    The results that local search is returning are far better than the old “for more local results.” I searched “Minneapolis Snowboard Shop” yesterday and got 10 great results right on the top of my organic search. I had phone numbers and addresses with out having to do any further digging. Google is apparently pulling there local data from more online sources to get these superior results. It is GREAT 🙂 Now if I could just find Brown Snow Pants…….

  5. Paul says:

    Just checked out the snowboard shop results myself and yeah… I agree and it looks really slick! I actually had no idea there were so many “Erik’s” shops. I thought there was maybe 2. 🙂

    I hope these results are a permanent thing. Around an hour ago it was showing three, now ten… Mike Blumenthal is showing some cool info regarding all of that.
    http://blumenthals.com/blog/

  6. […] The most recent Hitwise chart doesn’t take into account the recent change Google made to show 10 results from Google Maps on many Google.com searches. A Google spokesperson told Greg Sterling that the new display is […]

Leave a Reply

