Citysearch Gets More Local, Adds Facebook Connect Feature

I’ve always been a fan of Citysearch and now they have a new beta site which is streamlined very nicely. It turns out that in 1995 they knew something about local search and social media long before many of us thought it was cool. Local listings and user reviews/ratings have been on their platform for years.

Now Citysearch has introduced themselves as a Facebook Connect connection. What does this mean? Many things probably, and here’s just one example.

First, Citysearch now has related hyperlocal (neighborhood) suggestions.

Neighborhood Suggestions

Neighborhood Suggestions

They now have the options to integrate Facebook and Citysearch users.

Facebook and CitySearch

Facebook and CitySearch

I’ve given Northwestern Tire in Minneapolis a positive Google Maps review, and decided to give them another one in CitySearch. It’s a very honest review. They only got 4 out of 5 stars simply because their hours are open while I’m at my full time job in Woodbury. Unless I go there on a day off, I’ll have to go to a Jiffy Lube or somethin’ where they’ll try to upsell me while they do a mediocre job at best.

Northwestern Tire Review

Northwestern Tire Review

Since this review gets published to Facebook, anyone of my current 88 Facebook friends can now see this review when they log in. With Facebook being viral, maybe Northwestern will benefit from it.

Plug on Facebook

Plug on Facebook

in Facebook, the links go directly to the Northwestern Tire Citysearch profile which now includes an honest user review from myself.

The Citysearch/Facebook connection is ingenious if you ask me.

Bookmark on Google :: post to facebook :: add to del.icio.us :: Bookmark Post in Technorati

2 Responses to Citysearch Gets More Local, Adds Facebook Connect Feature

  1. Aaron Weiche says:

    Hey Paul- Great post. Very cool to see continued integration of websites and services paired down to the local level. I think I may have to give this one a shot, it’s a great way to refer my recommendations to friends, clients and partners on Facebook.

  2. Paul Jahn says:

    Thanks Aaron. I’ve seen the Facebook Connect thing on FB a few times now, and it’s definitely cool. I can see using that as a consumer.

Leave a Reply

