Blog Meme December ’08

A couple years ago, a lot of blog memes (tag) were going around. I then got tagged to write five things most people didn’t know about me. It was fun to do something like this around the holidays.

It’s been two years since, and Holly Matson from Geary Interactive tagged me yesterday in a new meme.

So here goes. The ante is up. Seven things that most (maybe it’s closer to some) people don’t know about me:

———-

1) I’m a summer wuss and rarely complain about the sub-zero temps like we’re having now because of it.

2) In social media outlets like Flickr, Twitter, and Facebook, I try to act the same online that I would face-to-face (not that this always happens, but I try).

3) I was a borderline child piano prodigy. My oldest sister Tami still plays at 46 and is awesome!

4) At 39, I’m a proud Grand Uncle of the beautiful, three-year-old Alana. Geez, my niece bred before me?

5) I drove the six-plus hours to Chicago to see the Obama election rally/victory speech pretty much for the hell of it (and I had a couple days off). Here are some Flickr sets from election day, election night, and the day after.

6) With that said, I’m actually neither an elephant or donkey. I’m not much into large groups of people telling me how I should think.

7) This last year, I’ve slacked and gained a few pounds which made it really sweet to break both a buckle and strap minutes before the start of the Northshore Inline Marathon. I was happy though to finish respectable at 2h 18m.

———-

That was seven? Sweet! I thought this would have been harder.

Similar to two years ago, I would like to include the Minnesota Wild’s Derek Boogaard playing tag. Here’s him playing nice-nice recently with some dude I’ve never heard of from Dallas.

Since this is a way to get to know people better, I figure the seven people I tagged would be some I’ve connected with on Twitter, but haven’t actually met face-to-face. So, here’s seven:

Sheldon Mains
Nelima K
Liz Giel
Erik Magraken – hockey fan and attorney from Victoria, BC. Very cool!
Tom Pick
Sam Glover
John Breyault

Tell us yer’ story! 🙂

Bookmark on Google :: post to facebook :: add to del.icio.us :: Bookmark Post in Technorati

13 Responses to Blog Meme December ’08

  1. Liz says:

    Cool! I feel sort of special. 🙂 I’ll work on my 7 tonight!

  2. Paul Jahn says:

    Fantastic Liz! Looking forward to seeing it. It’s kinda’ hard to find 7 things most people don’t know about themselves. 🙂

  3. Sam Glover says:

    I suck. I couldn’t think of more than three things, and one was my Wii Fit age.

  4. Thank goodness for Google Blog Alerts or I never would have seen this challenge. I’m up for it, so here goes!

    1) I used to have green hair and have always had a dream of starting a punk/old-time folk band called Hot Doughnuts Now! (think of it as a hillbilly version of Bad Brains)

    2) If you go to little wine-making town nestled in the Loire Valley of France called Cravant-les-Coteaux, you will find the lost tribe of the Breyaults.

    3) I get an unnatural thrill out of customizing my desktop and smartphone with Apple-esque add-ons (iFonz, Slide-2-Unlock, RocketDock, etc.). Take THAT Steve Jobs!

    4) I enjoy arguing with DC-ites and Marylanders about the benefits of living in Northern Virginia. South Arlington representin’!

    5) I have an unhealthy addiction to Neverwinter Nights and Out of the Park Baseball.

    6) At the ripe old age of thirty-mumblemumble, I still love to play Dungeons & Dragons with my college buddies. I’ve graduated from pen, paper, and dice to PCGen and Bag O’ Bones on my phone, though. Or does that just make me a bigger geek?

    7) While I may be a sanctimonious indie music snob, I still secretly rawk out to AC/DC. Shhhhhh…

  5. hjomats says:

    These are great…and you thought you couldn’t think of 7 🙂

  6. Sam Glover says:

    1) My Wii Fit age is 32.
    2) I grew up in Northern Virginia (Burke Centre) like John Breyault.

  7. Paul Jahn says:

    That’s some good stuff all, thanks! John, if I remember right, were you at the NCMR Minneapolis? We just never met up.

    My bad. I probably forgot to mention that you get tagged, write up things on your own blog then tag 7 others. Oh well, we still got some nice info about you all and more links to your sites too. All the better.

    Yeah, I was surprised on how quickly I came up with those 7!

  8. I second the benefits of Google Alerts. Thanks for tagging me!

  9. Tom Pick says:

    Thanks for tagging me Paul – fortunately I saw the link come up in my analytics! Okay, I’ll play:

    http://webmarketcentral.blogspot.com/2008/12/7-more-things-few-people-know-anout-me.html

  10. […] – Blog Meme December ‘08 December 19, 2008 Posted by emgiel in General fodder. trackback Paul Jahn pinged me in this form of blog-tag which is a new thing for me, but here goes […]

  11. nelimak says:

    Wow! Thanks for tagging me …. Okay seven things that most people don’t know about me. This isn’t as easy as it looks.

    1) At birth I had seven names now I have six (five official). My D.L. only lists four.
    2) Only my immediate family knows that sixth unofficial name.
    3) At one time I counted 52 uncles and aunts on my dad’s side of the family (my grandpa on his side was a chief with 5 wives).
    4) At the same time I counted 34 uncles and aunts on my mom’s side of the family (my grandpa on her side also was a chief with 5 wives).
    5) As much as I dread, loathe and complain about the Minnesota winters deep down I don’t think I want to relocate 😦 .
    6) Most people don’t know (and can’t believe) that I went to college for biochem. I don’t blame them….

    Okay that’s as far as I can go …. was almost there wasn’t I?

  12. Paul Jahn says:

    Thanks Erik, Tom, Liz, and Nelima! It’s fun to learn more about people this way. Hope everyone’s holiday season is going great!

  13. […] Paul Jahn pinged me in this form of blog-tag which is a new thing for me, but here goes nothing. […]

Leave a Reply

