Foursquare and Local Search – Time for Twin Cities Businesses to Embrace?

Logo from Foursquare

Logo from Foursquare

OK, I’m a bit late to the party. As of this writing, I’m the newest Twin Cities Foursquare user. For their history, feel free to see it on Wikipedia. Dodgeball is its predecessor.

Newest Foursquare Users

Newest Foursquare Users

This isn’t a big deal. I’ve just been curious about Foursquare for awhile as I’ve seen updates through viewing Twitter updates.

Connect with Twitter

Connect with Twitter

I chose to not connect my Foursquare account with Twitter. It’s just a personal thing as I don’t think that my Twitter connections care about my future Foursquare check-ins. The same option is available for Facebook.

Users can check-into places, earn points and become a mayor of different establishments. For users, this is nothing new. However and more importantly, local establishments can (and have) take advantage of this. There’s nothing better than word-of-mouth (via the Web) marketing.

This is just one small part of “local search”.

Some local businesses already get this. Here is a list. You’ll have to scroll down a bit to see the Twin Cities businesses.

A few examples:

First Avenue lets you dance for a buck. Ok, not my thing.
Free drink at Bryant Lake Bowl for the Mayor.
Free drink at Nye’s Bar for the Mayor.

It’s not only for dancing and libations. The Minnesota History Center has their own Foursquare offer.

Examples like the above could turn into some viral business. I would encourage any Twin Cities businesses to be involved with this. As noted above, a few already have. If you haven’t already, feel free to sign your venue up for Foursquare specials.

Have any fun Foursquare experiences as a user or business owner? We’d love to hear it.

Bookmark on Google :: post to facebook :: add to del.icio.us :: Bookmark Post in Technorati

One Response to Foursquare and Local Search – Time for Twin Cities Businesses to Embrace?

  1. I have been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts
    on this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately
    stumbled upon this website. Studying this info So i’m
    satisfied to show that I have an incredibly good uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed.
    I so much indubitably will make certain to do not put out of your mind this web site
    and give it a look on a continuing basis.

Leave a Reply

