Bacon Wrapped Sausage Wrapped Bacon? Giving Away Leftovers

OK, the name of this is called something else but it’s trademarked. (Check out the two links below) Also, I have leftovers and I’m happy to give them away to Minneapolis-area folks (more below).

First, kudos to the originators at BBQaddicts.com for what they call the BBQ sausage recipe of all recipes. They sell them fully smoked online as well.

I decided to copy the idea and give it a try. This morning included a trip to Greg’s Meats in Hampton, MN to purchase apple-cinnamon bacon, pork sausage and some BBQ seasoning.

Ingredients

Ingredients

The recipe starts with a 5×5 strip bacon weave.

Bacon Weave

Bacon Weave

Top it with pork sausage, BBQ seasoning and bacon pieces cooked to your preference.

Ready for Wrap

Ready for Wrap

Wrap the sausage over your cooked bacon pieces.

Ready for Bacon Weave Wrap

Ready for Bacon Weave Wrap

Preheat oven to 300-ish degrees and wrap the outer bacon weave around the sausage. (grill would be better)

Ready for Oven

Ready for Oven

The originators of this use a smoker. I don’t have a smoker. So, every 30 minutes or so I would switch up the tin foil that caught the grease. After 2-1/2 hours or so it was done.

Final Product

Final Product

Cut the roll open.

Inside the Roll

Inside the Roll

Cut into pieces. I tried to make the presentation look good, but it’s pretty much what it is.

Cut into Pieces

Cut into Pieces

So, there were ten total. I ate one. It’s delicious, I want another but I’m really trying to get in better shape which includes my diet. You’re probably in great shape and have a high metabolism. That’s why I want to give the rest to you. They’re currently individually saran-wrapped, frozen & approx. 2″ in diameter.

Cut into Pieces

Cut into Pieces

The US Pond Hockey commemorative mug is not included.

How to get them is pretty simple actually. Just comment to this post. We’ll figure it out from there. It’s probably obvious, but I’m not going to ship them anywhere so these are only for Minneapolis area bacon lovers. So, who wants them? They really are tasty!

Bookmark on Google :: post to facebook

10 Responses to Bacon Wrapped Sausage Wrapped Bacon? Giving Away Leftovers

  1. Tony says:

    Man, I’ve been wanting to try that recipe since I first saw it–I’ve heard it’s good on the grill as well.

    My co-worker and I decided we’ll try it when we break out the grills at the office this spring, probably before a Twins game. He also came up with the idea of using a slice on a breakfast sandwich, with egg/cheese/biscuit. Which sounds painfully delicious.

    I have a feeling I’m going to struggle to maintain my health working here…

  2. Paul Jahn says:

    Oh, man the breakfast sandwich sounds too good, Tony!

    I think you’re right that it’s meant more for the grill which would make it even tastier. Probably best to cook it outdoors anyway. My whole condo smells like freakin bacon.

  3. Tony Tellijohn says:

    Condo smelling like bacon doesn’t sound like an all bad thing…other than the fact that it sounds like you’re trying not to eat the other 9 pieces of it…

  4. Paul Jahn says:

    Yeah, the rest are in the freezer and the condo no longer smells like bacon. I kind of miss it. 🙂

    The bacon goodness hasn’t been claimed yet. They’re ready for the taking!

  5. Ed Dykhuizen says:

    Claimed. All you other vultures get away from my new bacon and sausage thing.

  6. Paul Jahn says:

    Yay! Nearest freezer, inside plastic Lunds bag and old popsicle box. I wish you hearty bacon goodness.

  7. pete says:

    I have been dying to try this very thing.

  8. Paul Jahn says:

    I won’t lie, Pete. It’s beyond tasty. I bet using a smoker like the originators makes it even better.

  9. Margaret Sch. says:

    Hard to believe you need to be on a diet, Paul! And Ed, please let us know if they’re good when reheated from frozen. I assume this whole thing is not a spoof?

  10. torebki says:

    After his death, the business was successfully carried on by his
    three sons. Style- Most of us looks at the design and
    style while buying any item. 1990’s – Bra became a highlight on women’s
    wardrobe.

Leave a Reply

