Giving Away Powerball Love

OK,  it’s time for a giveaway. I have ten $10 coupons to redeem for Powerball tickets. Here they are – all $100 worth.

Powerball Coupons

Powerball Coupons

These will be given away to a Minnesotan as the coupon specifically says they can be redeemed wherever Minnesota State Lottery tickets are sold.

I don’t know how the giveaway will be done yet but updates will mostly be given through Twitter and this blog. You do not have to follow me on Twitter to win. I really only want followers who are truly interested in my updates. You will however need to know the Twitter hashtag which will be mentioned here TBD.

How did I get these and why am I giving these away? I was at a Wild game on Singles Awareness Day (Feb. 14). The announcer called our row, and everyone in it won the same prize. Plus, I just want to do something nice for a random local.

So far I’ve received a couple of good recommendations. @JasonDouglas on Twitter suggested a Twitter auction. That does sound like fun and proceeds could go to the winner’s favorite charity.

@JasonDouglas Suggestion

@JasonDouglas Suggestion

@PGSCarol brought some humor and suggested I just give them all away at the office.

@PGSCarol Suggestion

@PGSCarol Suggestion

How about you? Any suggestions you think would work well for a giveaway?

The initial thought I had was actually the reason I joined Twitter 3 years ago. Basically, it was for a human scavenger hunt. Here’s more about that:

Twitter user @ldg has a site called the Least Dangerous Game. The site’s stagnant right now, but he would hide somewhere in the Twin Cities area, give out Twitter Clues to his whereabouts and would give a small prize to the first person who found him. It was a lot of fun actually and I remember learning some cool things about the area I previously didn’t.

Again, that was my initial thought, other suggestions are great and more are indeed welcome! What do you think would be a good idea for a giveaway?

If you’re a local business, would you be interested in teaming up? That would be wonderful and hopefully provide fun exposure.

Bookmark on Google :: post to facebook

3 Responses to Giving Away Powerball Love

  1. Aaron says:

    Hide half of them in a container in a public park and give a clue a day for ten days on Twitter winter-medallion-style. Get people to retweet the heck out of it. Give the other half away in a random drawing after it’s found: those eligible to win are new followers since your announcement and you’ll notify them via DM, which requires them to be still following you.

  2. Paul Jahn says:

    That’s definitely a good idea, Aaron. Thanks! I’ve pondered splitting them up. Do you think 50 bucks worth of these would entice people to look for them? I really don’t know.

    I like the random drawing as well. Could be new followers, or it could be any followers by surprise. I admittedly and often sarcastically don’t go out of my way to get new followers.

  3. Alex says:

    That’s a pretty fun idea! What’s with all these awesome Minnesota lottery promos?! I recently heard about another one called Cash & Concerts where you can enter a code on a non-winning lottery ticket and win things like iPods, music downloads, and concert tix! I wish more people would do cool stuff like this! Maybe you could do a promo using those tickets! You can check out more about it here: http://www.mnlottery.com/contests/

Leave a Reply

